top of page

DIY Advent calendar.

December 1st is quickly approaching and the season of Christmas is nearing.

For the past three years now, I have turned our chalkboard in the dining room into a special countdown to Christmas with a few DIY advent calendars.

First let's take a look back at the years past before I go into details about this years DIY countdown.

This was 2020's

This was 2021's


Now it's time to share 2022's!

Things I used for this DIY are:

•A roll of brown craft paper from the dollar store.

• Hot glue

• A glue stick or regular school glue

• Generic tags from a hobby store.

• Christmas themed card stock paper. (But, really any type of colored paper works.

• Sticker numbers.


How I made it:

I started off by making 25 little pocket envelopes.

I took one of the hobby store tags, traced it on the back of the decorative card stock paper, and then cut out 25 traced tags, that will be the front of the envelope.

Next, I glued along the edge of the tag, making sure not to glue the top, I then placed the cut out decorative paper on top of the tag creating a pocket envelope.


Once I had 25 little pocket envelopes made I set those aside and worked on the "scroll"

To make the scroll I unwound a bit from the role to create the top of the scroll. i've been secured that with a little bit of hot glue.

Make sure when you roll up the top it's as straight as possible because, if it's uneven in any way, it won't hang straight.

Once I had the top done and it was to the right thickness of my liking, I went ahead and secured the bottom part of the roll with a little bit of hot glue as well.


To hang the scroll, I threaded a bit of string through the top, and cut that to my desired length, based on how low I wanted it to hang on the chalkboard.

Once the scroll was done, it was time to glue on all 25 cards we previously made.

To get the cards on evenly I just measured the width of the scroll found the center and went from there. I got kind of lazy towards the end and just eyeballs everything but, if you are very particular definitely measure out where each card should go.

This year I decided to skip out on filling any of the envelopes with candy.

There's already a ton of sweets consumed during the Christmas season so, this year I wanted to give the kids a note, for each day to open during the month of December that would remind them of the real reason for the Christmas season.

Here are those 25 notes I wrote out;


25. Advent quotes.


  1. Noel, Latin- to be born.

  2. A star shining in the east, it’s shined both day and night, Noel, Noel, Noel

  3. Heavenly host sing hallelujah

  4. Let earth receive her king

  5. The Savior reigns

  6. Come to Bethlehem and see who’s birth the Angels sing

  7. The world in solemn stillness laid to hear the angels sing

  8. Light in life to all he brings born to give us second birth

  9. The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God

  10. Peace on Earth and mercy mild God and sinners reconciled.

  11. I bring you good tidings of great joy for all

  12. you shall find the infant wrapped in swaddling clothes, and laid in a manger

  13. Glory to the newborn king

  14. Jesus is the reason Gloria in excelsis Deo

  15. Three came Wise from east to Jerusalem, saying where is he that is born king of the Jews we have come to adore him

  16. Oh, come oh, come Emmanuel

  17. Hail in Blessed be the hour and moment in which the son of God was born to the most pure Virgin Mary

  18. A virgin shall conceive and bear son, and his name shall be called Emmanuel

  19. Always have hope peace, joy and love.

  20. Mary’s Fiat- a be it done to me according to the word

  21. His name shall be called wonderful counselor, God of the mighty the father of the world.

  22. And she shall bring forth a sign, and now she’ll call him, Jesus

  23. Tell he appeared in the soul felt it’s worth

  24. For the Christ child, who comes is the master of all

  25. Let every heart prepare him room


I hope you enjoyed this Christmas DIY and as always, thank you for stopping by the blog!


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page